Ham & (Gruyere) Cheese Biscuits

In the few days I’ve been back, I’ve barely managed to unpack (ok, I really haven’t done much unpacking at all…  it’s just too sad) but I’ve managed to go through the recipes I made before I left and have been updating/creating the posts to go with them.

Before I left I read a blog post (I wish I could remember where, because I’d link it) that said food bloggers are distorting the image of what North Americans actually eat.  They said the recipes they posted aren’t what real people eat, and I whole heartedly disagree.  I eat absolutely everything that I post – even if I did have to go to ten different stores to find all of the ingredients I needed – the little bit of effort is worth it to try something decadent, something incredibly complicated or wonderfully simple and showcasing the best ingredients I can find.  Food should be a pleasure to eat, not just something dull, bland and greasy you shovel down because you have to.  Although I’m pretty sure that this is still too far in it’s infancy for me to take on the food blogger title (yet) I just needed to ramble on a bit about how much that blog post bothered me.

Here’s a bit of cuteness to make up for that rant.

Now take these biscuits (I cut them square and they have meat in them, so I didn’t dare call them scones) for example.  They are simple, with only 8 ingredients (salt not included), but I used a good sharp gruyere cheese, because that’s what I had in the fridge, and it gave them an unmistakable and irresistible flavour, but you can always use sharp (extra old) cheddar if that’s what you have.

Ham & Gruyere Cheese Biscuits

100g (3.5oz) grated gruyere (or cheddar) cheese

100g (3.5oz) black forest ham, diced (I use the stuff I get at the deli counter)

2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt (optional, if you’re using really salty ham)

2/3 cup milk

1 egg

Preheat the oven to 400°.

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Add the cheese & ham and toss thoroughly with the dry ingredients.  Beat the egg and milk together and add to the dry ingredients.

Mix the dough together with a fork until it’s scraggly and starting to come together.  Tip the dough out onto a floured counter, knead it a few times and pat it out into a 30cm x 23 cm (12″ x 10″) rectangle.  Cut the dough into 16 equal pieces and place on a non-stick cookie sheet.  Brush each of the biscuits with a bit of milk.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, until the tops are golden brown.  Let them cool for a few minutes before eating.

This entry was posted in Ramblings, Recipes, Scones & Biscuits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

