Pineapple Ginger Chicken

My first day back at work after coming back from vacation.  There’s no worse feeling than getting back into the day-to-day grit after having such a wonderful vacation.  I made it through the day (thankfully I wasn’t weighed down by a whole lot of built up work, thanks Pat!!) without stressing out about anything, but I’m still missing Jamaica.

I figured on my first day back at work, it would be fitting to make my first Jamaican meal.  This isn’t exactly what I got from Canoe, I didn’t think to ask for a recipe to take home, but it’s the closest I could make with what I have in the pantry and freezer (I still haven’t done any grocery shopping yet… maybe tomorrow…).

Pineapple Ginger Chicken

Serves 2 with leftovers for lunch the next day

1 lb (454g) chopped boneless, skinless chicken breast

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 Tbsp minced ginger*

2 cloves garlic

1/2 a fresh pineapple or 1 400ml (14oz) can of pineapple with the juice

1 pinch red pepper flakes

salt to taste

Heat about a 1/2 Tbsp olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Brown the chicken until it’s almost cooked all the way through.  Remove the chicken from the skillet and set it aside.

Add the remaining Tbsp olive oil to the skillet.  Add the minced ginger & garlic to the skillet and cook it, constantly stirring, until it’s fragrant – about 1 minute.  Add the pinch of red pepper flakes and stir.  Use any juices collected from the pineapple to deglaze the pan.  Add the pineapple chunks and chicken to the pan.  Bring this up to a simmer and simmer for 5 minutes or so, until the sauce thickens and the chicken is fully cooked.  Serve over a bed of rice with some greens on the side.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

