Elmira Maple Syrup Festival 2011

Yesterday we were among the tens of thousands of people who flocked to the Elmira Maple Syrup Festival.  Every year the vendors line Arthur Street selling everything from fudge to meats & cheeses, spices to nick knacks for around the house and of course, maple syrup.

There are at least 50 places where you can get good food to eat as you walk up and down – back bacon on bun (drenched in maple syrup), roasted corn, potato pancakes and over the last few years, gyros & kebabs.  If you’re there early enough, and don’t mind waiting in line, you can always head to the pancake tent for enormous pancakes you can smother in as much or as little maple syrup as you want.

There’s also a small midway with carnival rides & pony rides for the kids, the “Old McDonald’s Farm” petting zoo, sugar bush tours and a hayrides back and forth to the various parking lots.  I couldn’t find the stand offering the sugar bush tours this year, so it’ll be another year before I can walk you through the maple syrup making process (which exists today much as it has for eons).

I brave the traffic jam (the normally 20 minute drive took us over an hour this year, and we left later, when traffic is usually lighter) every year for the cheap food, maple syrup, and my once annual allotment of funnel cake & a deep fried mars bar.

Now the hunt is on for tasty things to make with maple syrup, sugar & cheese curds…  Maple bacon poutine anyone?

This entry was posted in Festivals & Events, Spotlight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elmira Maple Syrup Festival 2011

  1. Theresa says:

    My hubby and I have been going to this festival since we were kids (many many years now). Love the atmosphire and all the excitement that fills the air. This year was no exception, the weather was perfect! I as so over come with the smell of maple syrup that I forgot to get the business card of a vendor that was selling homemade soaps! All I know is her stuff is 100% natural, smells awesome and the label has “Waterloo Soap Co.” I tried to no avail to google and canada 411 cannot find the address or website. If anyone has any clue where I can find this particular vendor please feel free to email me. I got the business cards of other vendors but I was so overcome with maple syrup and apple fritters and the smell of her wonderful soaps and lotions, I forgot to get her card. Her booth was the last one that we visited as well so I just couldn’t run back and get one ( I realized that I had no info on her when we were at a friends afterwords adn I was raving about the soaps and lotions)
    Thank you in advance,
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

