Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

It was my niece’s sixth birthday this week and for the first time in her life, she didn’t have a cake made by Auntie on her birthday.  And she won’t have one for her birthday party either. It’s the little things like this that make me miss my family even more.

Instead of spending Monday night baking a cake and making brightly coloured icing, I spent it cleaning and reading a book.  It kind of zapped all of my want to cook for the week, but I still cooked.  Mostly dinners, until I couldn’t ignore Joey’s request for sweets anymore.

So I made muffins.  At 10:30 at night.  It’s generally the only way I can make muffins last for more than an hour.  These ones, surprisingly enough, lasted for quite a while.  I think it helps that I made both large and mini muffins.  And the mini’s give me exactly what I’m looking for and I don’t feel guilty if I eat two or three of them.

I’ve excluded sugar in favour of honey in this recipe.  Not that disturbing and almost bitter honey that comes in a bee shaped container at the grocery store, but wildflower honey that I picked up at the farmers market right from the beekeepers.  It’s harvested only about 50km from where I live and while I’ve spent a lifetime detesting that bee jar honey, this is sweet, light and has the most beautiful golden colour I’ve ever seen.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Makes 18 muffins, or 12 large and 12 mini muffins

1/3 cup poppy seeds

1 1/4 cup milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup wildflower honey

zest and juice of one lemon

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350°.  In a small bowl, combine the milk and poppy seeds.  Let the poppy seeds and milk sit for about 10 minutes. Line your muffin tin with paper lines & set it aside.

Meanwhile, in another small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Whisk it well.

Beat together the eggs, honey, vegetable oil, vanilla, lemon zest, lemon juice and the milk/poppy seed mixture.  Add the flour all at once and beat until there are no lumps left (about 1 minute).  Be sure to scrape around the sides and bottom of the bowl just to make sure there are no lumps left.

Pour the batter into the liners, until the batter is about 1cm (1/2in) from the top.  Bake the large muffins for 25-28 minutes and the mini muffins for 20-22 minutes.  Let the muffins cool for a few minutes in the pan and the remove to a rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Muffins, Recipes, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. I’ve made these before. There are super yummy!

  2. banbamama says:

    I was just looking at the poppy seeds in my cupboard earlier today, thinking to myself I should make lemon poppy seed cake. I think I will make this tomorrow. Thanks!

  3. I like baking at night too. Your muffins would be such a delicious surprise to wake up to in the morning. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-21.html

Leave a Reply

