Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal Muffins

Oh how bittersweet you are Sunday morning.  You let me know that I only have one relaxing day left before I have to wake up to the alarm clock tomorrow.  You also let me know that I have a whole morning that I can spend watching cheesy old movies and taking the time to relax and make a good breakfast.

I’ve always been a sucker for maple and brown sugar oatmeal – but I can never bring myself to buy those little packets of instant oatmeal.  Nor I can bring myself to sit in front of the stove and stir away at a pot of oatmeal, I really don’t want to miss the reruns of CSI or the first few minutes of a movie I’ve already seen 10 times.

But I did check out 101 Cookbooks this morning and saw Heidi Swanson’s oatmeal muffins and they gave me an idea.  A wonderful, simple, awesome idea.

Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal Muffins

Adapted from 101cookbooks.com

Makes 12

3/4 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp all purpose flour

1/2 cup oat flour*

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp butter

1/3 cup golden brown sugar

1/3 cup plus 1 Tbsp maple sugar*

2 Tbsp maple syrup

2 eggs

3/4 cup plain yogurt

2 Tbsp milk

2 Tbsp chopped walnut pieces (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners, or grease & flour the tin.  In a small bowl mix together the oats, all purpose flour, oat flour, baking soda, salt and allspice.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, 1/3 cup maple sugar and maple syrup.  When the mixture is fluffy and pale brown, thoroughly beat in the eggs.  Mix in the yogurt and milk.  Add the dry mixture and beat until just combined.

Split the muffin batter between each of the 12 cups.  Sprinkle the walnut pieces and reserved maple sugar on top.  Bake for 20-23 minutes, until golden brown.

Remove the muffins from the pan right away.  Let them cool slightly and eat.

*I will be posting recipes this week for homemade maple sugar and oat flour.

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Muffins, Recipes, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal Muffins

  1. These look OH SO FANTASTIC
    xoxo
    bB
    Please stop by and say hi.
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Stephanie says:

    I’m wondering what maple sugar is? Do you have a recipe for it? Thanks! I’ve been looking for a recipe to replace my husband’s favorite breakfast… Brown Sugar Cinnamon Pop-Tarts! Eck!!

    • Maple sugar is just maple syrup that has been boiled down until it crystallizes. Where I live in Canada I can buy maple sugar at most grocery stores (there’s a ton of maple syrup produced around here). I haven’t posted a recipe for homemade maple sugar yet, but I will post it on my new website http://morethanaspoonful.com this weekend.

Leave a Reply

