Everything Crackers

We’ve had so much rain lately that I can’t believe that it’s just a few short days until summer officially begins.  Normally at this point we would’ve picnicked by the river, on a tiny little red blanket at least a few times, but that hasn’t happened just yet.  Joey’s been working most weekends and when he’s not, it’s because it’s raining.  All of that extra work just so I can comfortably head west to see my nephews and niece at the end of the summer.  It’s so sweet it makes me want to cry – and then I think about the four little faces that will giggle and say Auntie, my brother and his poop jokes, my sister and her infectious laugh – and I do cry.  I miss them with all of my heart.

They’re the reason why I started out on this little blogging adventure.  I wanted to do something to share little bits of my day with them – even though I talk to them nearly everyday.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the last time all four of of us were in the same place at the same time and it breaks my heart to say it, but it’s been almost five years.  One of the best times I can remember was way back when I was in high school.  I was working night shift at my part time job and I came home with a backpack full of bagels.  My sister’s couches were crowed by the sleeping figures of each of my brothers and she was just waking up to feed my newborn nephew.  He decided it was time for everyone to get up and started to wail like a banshee.  While he rested after his bottle, the four of us sat, joked and ate each and every one of those bagels.

These crackers are inspired by the everything bagels smothered in cream cheese they all loved and I hated.  I’m still not a fan of cream cheese, but I do love everything bagels.

Crispy Everything Crackers

2 cups flour

2 Tbsp white sesame seeds

1 Tbsp black sesame seeds

1 Tbsp poppy seeds

2 Tbsp dried onion flakes

1 1/2 Tbsp granulated garlic

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 – 3/4 cup warm water

1 Tbsp coarse salt for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 400°.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, seeds, spices and salt.  Make a well in the centre and add the olive oil.  Stir with a fork until the oil is absorbed and the dough is lumpy.  Add 1/2 cup of the water.  Stir until the dough starts to form a ball, adding more water if necessary.  Knead the dough a few times and shape it into a ball.  Cover with plastic wrap and let the dough rest for 10 minutes.

Cut the ball in half and roll each half to about 1/2cm (1/4in).  Place each half on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 12-17 minutes, until the crackers are golden brown. Cut or break the crackers into bits.  They’re good with hummus, soup or topped with cream cheese.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment